USB Mic Recommendation

I’m working in a noisy room (street noise + A/C + other people talking). It is becoming an issue on conference calls. I’d like a high quality mono-directional mic that would be good for streaming or VO recording as well. Something with a retractable arm that I can clamp to the desk with or without a pop filter.

Not sure about budget yet until I know what the trade-offs are. I want to see the price-is-no-object option(s), but probably looking to spend no more than ~$300. Also if there’s an option that gets me 90% there for much less, I’m interested in that too.

Thanks to all in advance!

I’m no mic expert, but IIRC cardioid mics pick up audio from a very specific direction, so noises from outside the pick up pattern are minimized. Sounds bouncing off of walls may be picked up though.

1 Like

Would recommend something like the Shure SM 48 LC and a cheap audio interface (eg: Behringer UMC 22).

Edit: For an untreated room, dynamic mic beats condenser. To reduce ambient noise pickup, cardioid pick-up pattern mics.

1 Like

Rode Podcaster.

But please be aware that no mic in the world can fully fix your room noise.

1 Like

Thanks, that’s great info.

100% understand.

What about something like this? Intended for outdoor use, might handle ambient noise?

No idea what interference tube means.

Can you set up an ambient mic to help with the reduction of ambient noise?

Shotgun mic indoors is asking for trouble. I wouldn’t unless you can’t have a mic attached to a guy wandering arround on stage or so.

2 Likes

But can you set it up to define the noise to be removed? Or some kind of omni-directional mic?

IIRC, that’s how laptops and things perform noise rejection, with a second mic?

Shotgun is more intended for the sound guy dangling it over you. The Podcaster is intended for being close and that is what you want.

That’s all software. I’m sure there are ways to do that but I would stick to a solid mic first and go from there.