Upgrading my Gaming PC (solved)

Hi everyone!! This is my first time posting on the forums. Don't be so hard on me ^^

Anyway, as you can see in the subject I need advice cause I want to upgrade my current rig. My current rig is I think an 8 year old xfx 790i with a core 2 quad q9400 oc'd at 3.7 ghz, I have 8 gigs of ddr3 RAM @ 1866mhz and a gtx 760.  This rig is still ok for the types of games I play on it, in my opinion, but my computer is just too bulky and due to my current situation with my job I need a smaller rig. I travel a lot and I want to carry my computer around with me but I don't want the m-itx option because I want to be able to have more play in terms of expansion. So, I decided to build a micro ATX system.

I know its a "no brainer" to pick Intel simply because they have excellent micro ATX motherboards, but I really want to try the FX 8350 because of the price. My problem is finding good am3+ boards that will support FX CPU's out of the box. 

My questions are the following.

Are there any good am3+ micro-atx motherboards that you can suggest that will allow me to get a decent OC on the FX cpu?

How significant of a performance difference is there between a FX 8350 and a i5 4670k in purely gaming situations?

Will it be smart to pick fm2+ platform instead if I really want to go AMD?

P.S.

I will be getting a r9 290x soon from the mail. I bought it off ebay for 265 bucks but I still don't know if it works (yes, I know it was most likely used 24/7 for a few months for coin mining). I have my fingers crossed right now. ^^

In terms of gaming, the 4670k is better than the AMD 8350 in every way, but it is more expensive. Another option is a xeon processor. The Xeon 1230v3 is better than an overclocked 8350 and costs more, but uses less power and you don't need to buy an overclocking motherboard and cooler so it saves money. It also has 8 threads like the 8350.

Here are a few build ideas that come to mind with different CPU options.