Upgrading from Sandybridge to Zen 2 - looking for advice

Hey guys. As the title states, it’s finally time for me to upgrade. I’ll be upgrading from Intel Sandybridge (i5-2500k) to AMD Zen 2 (3600 or 3700x).

1. 3600 vs. 3700x… The main reason I ask is that I’m doing a degree in photography and I deal with relatively large image files (anywhere from 25MB to 250MB+) on Photoshop/Lightroom. If anyone has a link to benchmarks for this specifically, that’d be great.

2. I think 3200MHz CL16 RAM is a good price/performance balance for me. However, I’ve found that 3000MHz CL15 is the same price if not marginally cheaper. Would it be beneficial to get this RAM and OC it to 3200 CL15 or higher, or should I go for the 3200 CL16 in the hopes that it might OC to 3600 CL16 or similar? If both RAM sets are “B-Die”, is there even much difference?

3. Finally, I’m looking for a new CPU cooler. Is the Hyper 212 Evo (or the new “Black Edition” which seems a little quieter) still the best bet for under £50 ($60)?

Here’s the list:

PCPartPicker Part List

Type Item Price
CPU *AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor £189.99 @ Aria PC
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition 42 CFM CPU Cooler £29.99 @ AWD-IT
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS ELITE ATX AM4 Motherboard £208.93 @ Box Limited
Memory *Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory £75.49 @ CCL Computers
Storage *Intel 660p Series 1.02 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive £97.97 @ CCL Computers
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total £602.37
*Lowest price parts chosen from parametric criteria
Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-08-14 17:36 BST+0100

Cheers guys!

Forgot to mention: some people on Reddit have been suggesting that getting a 3700x would be the better choice if only because it will be more future-proof. What do you guys think of this?

Yes, the 3700X is the way to go here. The four extra threads compared to the 3600 is going to be a big help for your workload.