Upgrading from a 5820k to a Dual Xeon Build, Advice Appreciated!

So this is the system I currently have: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/wbLvKZ

Certainly a beast of a system, but I'm finding out I actually need some more horsepower.

I'm studying Networking and Penetration Testing (Just starting out, any advice would be appreciated). I found out what virtualization was a few months ago and have been playing around with operating systems ever since. I'm starting to get into creating entire virtual networks and I just don't have the core count/ RAM to make the number of VMs I want or have them run as smooth as I'd like.

Enter the Xeon E5-2670. I found out about these 8 Core hyperthreading beauties and immediately started planning a new rig. If you don't know, these chips were dumped on the second hand market and go for $55-80 on Amazon and Ebay. I don't just want one, though. At $80 a piece, I want two.

So this is my new part list to transform my current rig to a dual Xeon one: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/YnxhM8

All I'm changing is the Motherboard, CPUs, and Ram.

What say you, brethen? What would you change and why?

I would say: JUST DO IT!

Oh I'm gonna! Just looking for recommendations on tweaks to my build.

Maybe this helps a little: -> CLICK <-

1 Like

It does, I was really considering using that board. SLI and USB 3.0, as well as possibly overclocking swayed me otherwise...though frankly I'm still not settled on a board.

If you're running VMs and you need VT-d, MAKE SURE that the 2670s you buy are the SR0KX stepping, not SR0H8. SR0H8 is the C1 stepping for the 2670, for which VT-d support is broken and turned off. They fixed it with SR0KX.

Make sure that the motherboard you get has good reviews. Supermicro boards are rock-solid but they take for-fucking-ever to post and boot because they're server boards. ASRock and Asus workstation boards are much better for more end-user-oriented systems.