Upgrade my workstation

Hi guys,
I just registered to L1T forum although I follow Wendell and the youtube channel since it has been created. I am a professional freelance software developer (15+ experience) and I am going to upgrade my workstation/gaming PC in the following weeks. I am only going to upgrade mobo and CPU and here are the parts I already own:

• The PSU (I have two 80+ Gold power supply available: a Cooler Master 750W and a Thermaltake 450W, I am currently using the latter)
  • Fractal Design Celsius S36 (so, no Ryzen Threadripper…)
  • 4x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB (F4-3200C16-8GTZR)
  • ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro (ASX8200PNP-1TT-C)
  • 2x WD Green SATA-III HDD’s
  • MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G
  • 3x 140 mm PWM fans

I need a good system for heavy workloads (compilation, debugging/testing and virtualization) so I am definitely buying a 8+ cores CPU. Currently I own an Intel Core i7-7700K. The obvious (price/performance) choice is a Ryzen 2 or 3 (2700X/3700X as a bare minimum). What confuses me the most are AM4 motherboards: should I go for a X570, B450 or wait for B550? I watched and read a lot of material and I guess the MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk is a good choice but I don’t know when it is going to be released.

I fully switched to Linux since November so I NEED the system to be fully compatible with Linux (I use Arch BTW :rofl:).

Budget-wise I don’t really have a limit since it’s mostly a workstation but I also don’t want to throw away my money on some computer I am never going to fully use. Any suggestion is going to be appreciated.

PS: I am not a fanboy so I won’t complain with Intel suggestions. :wink:

1 Like

Welcome to the forum

To clarify above statement are your compile times cpu bound on memory bound? If you want fast cores and lost of threads then ryzen 3rd gen is good. If you need lots on memory bandwidth and cpu can be cheaper, stick to 2nd gen.