Unraid Server 32 core vs 64 core Milan

I just wanted to get your wise insights levelonetech community on 32 core vs 64 core for large media server/VMs/Dockers/security cameras. I plan to upgrade my server with either a epyc Milan 32 or 64 and going to put a quadro 4000 also for plex transcoding. Does unraid scale well enough where I would see enough benefit bumping to 64 cores? I have not ran a system with that many cores in unraid so I have no real world experience. I just know right now my system is constantly strained.

Any insights or advice is much appreicated :slight_smile:

That would entirely depend on how well KVM and Docker scale with CPU cores. Those are the underlying technologies in unraid.

I question what kind of server you’re running if you’re out of CPU capacity. I run a media server, pihole, reverse proxy, torrent box, nextcloud, and game server out of unraid without issue on 8c16t.

If its mainly transcoding then the quadro is going to reduce your CPU usage a lot… but I’m transcoding 4k streams to 1080p on 8 cores without missing a beat… so clearly we have different workloads.

right now I am using hardware transcoding with the cpu but even with I have a lot of downloads going and extracting my cpu spikes pretty high.

I mean, I have those things too but CPU pinning means I never experience interruption.

I’d say a quadro would certainly free up some resources though.

1 Like