Tutorial: Debugging (kdenlive KF5 On Arch Linux)

Hey guys,

I've been using kdenlive the KDE Non-LInear Video Editor for editing videos for my uni's alumni club for a while and quite like this programme. With KDE Plasma 5, the new desktop and toolkit version on the horizon, the kdenlive developers are porting their programme to a new base.

After very interesting sessions helping the kdenlive developers with their port to KDE frameworks 5 I thought I'd share my experiences with you here.

I have no technical background so this was a very interesting adventure for me and I hope I can help any non-programmer here to help our coding friends with bug squashing.

I'm running Antergos / Arch Linux so I'll explain how to do it on this Distro but everyone is welcome and encouraged to share a tutorial for their Distro of choice here.

1. Getting everything in place for debugging

To get started you basically need gdb and yaourt the GNU DeBugger. Install them either via the GUI of your choice or by using the sudo pacman -S gdb yaourt in console.

2. Edit /etc/makepkg.conf for maximum performance and to not strip out the debugging symbols

Arch uses the AUR (Arch User Repository) as their equivalent to PPAs (Private Package Archives) on Ubuntu. The main difference is, that the packages are compiled locally and not on a remote server so you can/should/must tune the build environment yourself. This is done by editing the options in the makepkg.conf text file. 

To do that open /etc/makepkg.conf in your favourite text editor with root (admin) privileges and edit the following lines:

#-- Make Flags: change this for DistCC/SMP systems
MAKEFLAGS="-j6"

Tells the compiler how many threads it should be using. I'm on an AMD X6 so I tell it to use all 6 threads. This speeds up the build process extremely.