Trying to build super budget gaming PC, need good opinions!

Hey guys, I need some help. I am new to gaming PC's, but very eager to learn, so please, help me learn, and don't be super mean. You were all newbs at some point I presume. That being said, I am attempting to build a new PC for under $250. I have a few parts that can crossover from my old,"build" so it's not all brand new.

THESE ARE THE PARTS I NEED TO COST UNDER $250.

MOTHERBOARD: So, I am thinking, I want to get a GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-S2 AM3+, upgradable to 16GB Ram, so it's a little but future proof than 8GB limitations. Not getting much good with the SATA2 ports, but I don't have a nice HDD anyways. I do not care about USB 3.0, or 6Gb/s SATAs. ($50)

CPU: I like the AMD FX-4300, it's 3.8Ghz, (4.0OC) Quad Core. I am split between that and a Six-Core CPU in the same price range($120). I need your advice as to which I should go with. How important is the number of cores vs the speed?

RAM: GSkill 1333 8GB Ram cartridge. ($48)

I have my exisitng GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GT(Need to upgrade that I know), my old 550w MicroATX PSU, and my old 160GB HDD. I really wanted a good CPU and alot of RAM. I feel RAM is my largest setback right now because I want 64-bit OS, and 2GB ain't gonna cut it.

OVERVIEW: Is this build going to be decent? Is there room for upgrading to make a good gaming PC down the road without replacing the motherboard and CPU? Does the RAM speed matter, because my motherboard will only reach DDR3 1333 speeds. If not, I'd like some reccomendations. I understand this was a somewhat long post, but I am eager to learn, and build, so any help would be very much appreciated.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/JOlr

Possibly the most potential performance you can squeeze out of that budget.