Troubleshooting Framerate Spikes - Is it possible? If so, how?

Although the games I'm about to mention are probably not the best examples, I've been having some issues with my new pc that I just built last week.  It's also worth mentioning this is my first time with building a pc, gaming on a pc, and attempting to understand this new way of life.  I've modded Skyrim a fair bit (not nearly as much as Logan) and also no ENBs so far.  I've just activated mods through the nexus mod manager.  With Fraps I've noticed the fps drop from 60 to 50, sometimes down to 45.  I know these are decent framerates as they are well above the common console 30fps, but as I see it, when it's jumping from 60 down to 45, it's very irritating to the eye.  I'm also seeing this in other games as well such as Assassins Creed 4,  Witcher 2, and World of Warcraft.  With my pc build I was hoping to avoid having problems with framerate, but it seems it is still a slight issue I'm having.  Is this something to be expected from pc gaming?  Is this something others find annoying?  Are there ways to troubleshoot and get around this issue?  I think 60fps ALL the time would be a beautiful thing and gaming would be even more enjoyable on the PC.    Thanks guys and gals,  I just joined the community today and I'm very excited to hear your opinions on this and many other topics!  

heres my build:  

GPU:   EVGA GTX 780 Ti (ACX Cooler SuperClocked Edition)

CPU:   Intel Core i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz

RAM:   Corsair Dominator 16GB (2X 8GB)

MB:   Asus Maximus VI Hero

Storage:  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB  and  WD Black 1 TB HDD

Case:  Cooler Master Cosmos 2

My case?

Yeah man try a different case.

thanks for the feedback...

Limit your framerate to 30 and see if the spikes go away :)

well i was trying to avoid 30 fps,  but how would I go about doing that?