Threadripper Pro build for 3D

Hey All,

I just got that new ASUS Wrx80e-SAGE Pro with that threadripper pro 3990wx

I’m a 3D designer who is always modeling texturing and rendering. I’m planning to play with corona more eventho i still do lots of GPU rendering.

I need advice on this in terms of RAM and M2 for windows and AIO?

I already have a build that is the first gen 1950x with 4 gpus and 128 gig of ram and 1600w psu.
I use the enermax AIO which havnt failed on me yet for the past 3 yeears haha.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Cheers,
mo bensasi

2 Likes

Nice rig!

What case Is that ?

I would try and populate all channels ECC and maybe 3200 if 1st gen threadripper can handle it.

M.2 I’m also looking at a new build and the few that stick out to me are:

Sabrent rocket plus gen 4
Sn850 WD Black
Samsung 980 pro

Terms of space I guess that is down to how much you have to install etc.

Hope I could help :slightly_smiling_face:

Seems a no brainer to upgrade to ECC DRAM with a platform that will support it properly.

Very lucky with the Enermax AIO I guess.

You still want a full coverage block for the IHS and the AIO choices that do that are very limited. Most solutions are custom cooling blocks which also provide the absolute best cooling.

The Cooler Master ML360 TR4 edition is the only other full IHS coverage AIO solution on the market other than the Enermax TR4.

I use the Optimus PC Absolute Threadripper 3+ block on my Epyc 7402P and TR 2920X cpus. Best on the market in my opinion but takes a while to get. Looks like 4 weeks currently.

Second choice would be the Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro block which is easier to get but you still have to wait since Watercool is a build to order vendor.

A custom loop with soft tubing is not that hard to install and will perform circles around any AIO.

How have you found the Optimus ?

I’m currently deciding between that and the new EK full nickel magnitude block.