Thin Mini-ITX vs Mini-ITX?

I'm working on a component list for a small form factor media center/streaming box build that I am planning. I'm pretty new to the mini-ITX format, so could anyone explain the main differences between "Thin" Mini-ITX and Mini-ITX? From the looks of it, I would guess that the "thin" descriptor has to do with the reduced I/O, which makes the board height lower, but I'm also wondering if there are any other main differences.

Edit: it also looks like most of the Thin boards are powered by an external AC power adapter which might be perfect for my application.

Thin mini ITX is designed for ultra thin form factors, aka AIO PCs. They are normally designed to run low power parts (Intel's T SKU)., with most boards only having a 3 phase unheatsinked vrm. The thin boards also usually have the most basic chipsets Intel makes, Q87 and H81. Thin mini ITX boards do not come with a full sized PCI-E connector so you will be stuck with integrated graphics.

1 Like

Thanks.

Yeah, I'm looking to make a streaming box/media center PC, so I'd think that integrated gfx would do fine. I dont plan on gaming on it at all. However, I am concerned with having external wireless antennas, which none of the thin boards on newegg appear to have (that I've seen so far).

Since the chassis I plan to use is pretty damn small, I was hoping to use the external AC power brick, but I might have to change over to Mini-ITX and a Mini-ITX PSU. Hrmm...I need to do some measuring :)

As long as the case you want to use is not the Lian Li PC-Q05 or the In-Win K2 you shouldn't need a thin mini ITX. But I will warn you; pay very close attention to the height of your ram, try to get some value line ram (the type without a heatsink) as that is the least likely to be too tall