"Theoretical Question" Ripping DVDs and Blurays

THEORETICAL QUESTON - NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGMENT INTENDED

Okay, I have never done this before but I ma building up a media libiray on Kodi. I have heard Linus talk alot about ripping blurays and never actually watching them physically. I was wondeirng how easy is it to do this?

If I had some DVDs and Blurays I wanted ripping to MP4 or similar formats what software would I need? Can I output it to the full resolution? Is it time consuming? and what software is best (free vs paid)

Thoughts and opinions welcomed :slight_smile:

Use handbrake, its free and open source.
Is it time consuming? oh yes, but also depends on the power of your machine.
I suggest MKV container with either h265 or VP9 codec for better quality and lower file size.

1 Like

I appreciate the tips too!

If the DVD or Bluray had some sourt of copy proection cough would this still be able to rip?

For Bluerays, probably it would be significantly better. DVDs do just fine on h.264 though.

The other consideration is support for the codecs. H.264 has WAY better overall support, especially on older and lower end devices, and many more devices have hardware decoders for it. VP9/H.265 are better, but are a worse experience if the device does not have hardware decoding or a powerful enough CPU to do the decode.

This is all moot if you are going to put it in plex (or jellyfin or emby) and transcode it on the fly to the best codec for the device before streaming it.

This is the best GUI option for DVDs, although if you have a Linux box available, automatic ripping machine is available

3 Likes

my 2011 laptop can easily process h265 in 1080p so I’m not too worried about performance.
Now I don’t know much about the inner workings of the codecs but h265 seams to result in way less color banding in low bit rates compared to h264.

https://www.makemkv.com/