The working dead: IT jobs bound for extinction

Rapid shifts in technologies—and evolving business needs—make career reinvention a matter of survival in the IT industry

The IT industry has seen many such waves where the "next big thing" turned out to be smaller and shorter-lived than anyone expected, thanks to rapid shifts in technology. Back then, the internet was the big game changer. Today, automation, artificial intelligence, and as a service are causing some jobs to disappear and others to radically change form.

Here’s a look at the kinds of tech jobs even some of today’s hottest, like developers and data scientists that could one day find themselves on the digital scrap heap and how you can avoid that dead end...

2 Likes

They're not wrong. IT is blue collar now, and stagnating your skillsets once you're comfortable isn't good for job security

2 Likes

I'm a computer operator for $Company. :sob:

It is true, there are very few of us.

Listen to me now.

Cloud will be an unprecedented disaster in privacy and centralization & control of information.

Also, my goodness this writer is repetetive.

"X Things that Y" Headlines over and over. I'm beginning to think he's pushing an agenda/is paid very well to write such things.

This is true. It comes across as more of anecdotal opinions than anything else. The tech industry changes with changes in technology is nothing new, but I fail to see any IT job go "extinct" for any reason mentions in that piece. Admin jobs for example will not shift to the cloud, they will take on some aspects of cloud computing and will remain primarily on premises. It doesnt even change the nature of the job except your not dealing with physical equipment. At Catsay points out its disaster central for information control, and no organisation will move to the cloud for anything remotely important. ( the smart ones anyway)

1 Like