The most fun I've had in... A week

So I forgot to take my epilepsy medication this morning. When I do forget, I feel amazing… For a while… And then I begin to feel like I just ate 4 entire pizzas and I’m about to explode on the floor while being ridiculously hungry and light headed… So that’s bound to come soon. And my best friend just asked this one girl I was going to ask out, and she said yes so it has been one hell of a week. So when I am out of it I tend to get a lot of programming in… But uhh… Anyway. While I feel good let’s get to the point.

I’ve been a long time programmer and Linux enthusiast for a while and I’ve done some pretty cool stuff with projects like CarbonROM and nonprofits like the IMHS, but I was in the mood for something simple. Shell scripting. I wanted my touchpad to adjust settings when I launch Steam so I created this monstrosity…

https://github.com/CertifiedBlyndGuy/Scripts

And shockingly I actually learned a bit which I wasn’t expecting. First off, GNU parallel is actually kind of sweet and here is why.

I wanted to launch Steam and run my script that adjusts Xinput at the same time. I couldn’t do that with a typical bash script because processes are ran consecutive to one another and not concurrently. So that was a big problem. Luckily, parallel let’s you do this in either this syntax:

parallel ::: steam touchpad.sh

Or:

(echo steam; echo touchpad.sh) | parallel

So pretty easy right? WRONG. I’m much cooler than that and that’s too simple. I wanted my script to actually check for steam which is possibly if we use pgrep. In this case, I did:

if [[ -n $fast ]] || pgrep -x “steam” > /dev/null

So, I also had profiles implemented to that could be enabled by running the touchpad script with an input. In this case it would be launched with “fast” after the script name in the terminal. If ran when Steam is running without the profile selected it accomplishes the same thing.