The average life of a 4TB HDD

Hey guys, I was thinking about getting a 4TB HDD to hold all of my things, I am starting to have some storage problems and need to upgrade. I have heard that larger HDDs die pretty quickly. I was wondering if this is true or not. How long will it last, I don't want to have to worry about replacing it for a few years at least.

Its sort of a wash. Some people have drives that will last them for years others will die after a few days. It is pretty difficult to say. Usually however, over 1TB you start seeing diminishing reliability. It would probably be better to get multiple 1TB drives than one single big one. 

You could always get a few 1TB drives and run them in RAID 10 or 5. You could also get two 4TB drives and run them in RAID 1 to get better reliability.

This may sound stupid, but I am pretty new to the computer community so, what is RAID exactly?

Edit: I looked it up, I guess I will probably just get two 2TB drives and put them in RAID 1. I don't think that I will run out of space, but if I do, would it be possible for me to get two more 2TB drives and put them in RAID 1 separate from the other two?

Keep in mind, RAID is not a backup. If what you care about is the safety of your data, RAID is not a solution, ever. So get your big 2TB HDD, and then get an offsite or at least offline place to replicate your important files to.