Testing 5 systems for Kdenlive and Gaming with The Linux Gamer | Level One Techs

Special Thanks to The Linux Gamer https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCv1Kcz-CuGM6mxzL3B1_Eiw

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://level1techs.com/video/testing-5-systems-kdenlive-and-gaming-linux-gamer

I’m part of the “bad at naming” club too. I once had a pet cat that I named “the cat” because I couldn’t think of anything more creative.

The Linux Gamer seems like a good guy. I subscribed to his channel after watching the last few videos you did with him. But Linux gaming is where my fringe is.

I generally stick with Linux Mint as my main platform. I have been using Linux as an OS since 2006-2007. I started with Ubuntu, because at the time, it was the distro everyone was saying was “noob friendly”, it was my first introductory to the Linux desktop. But I couldn’t deal with the changes Canonical were making back then and jumped to Mint. I am using 18.3 now and I am still pleased with Mint. Though I have Manjaro on a laptop and that is pretty nice too. For me, I use what I am comfortable with.

Finding a good video editor has always been a bit of an uphill battle on Linux, but the newest Kdenlive is pretty good. Though, I do all my video editing in Blender’s non linear video editor. I find it to be the best choice for me, and Blender has one of the best compositors (though, the learning curve is high) because it is a 3D modeling program at it’s core with many plug-ins and features.

Openshot is another video editor on Linux that is coming along pretty nicely, and I also recommended looking at Lightworks, which is not Open source and requires an online account.

Enjoyed this video a lot. The onscreen chemistry was reminiscent of the old days but without the needless hyper activity. Better in fact than the tek syndicate content of old. More like this please.

1 Like