Switching to Linux

Hello all,

I'm looking into switching to Linux as my main OS and would like some suggestions from people who know more about them than I do. I'm looking for a distro that has high security features but is still somewhat easy to use. I also would like to still be able to run Windows in some capacity in the event I need to do something Linux will just not do (I anticipate this to be mostly gaming). Ideally I would like to just run Windows in a VM but if I need to dual boot to get things to work right I would be open to that as long as the linux partition can be secured. I'm not a complete noob but I've never had a reason to learn Linux before (windows based PC's at all my previous jobs). Now that I'm jobless I'd like to make the switch for real.

I've used Ubuntu and Mint in the past, should I be sticking with these or is there something that is closer to what I'm looking for described above?

1 Like

well you can start by telling us what kind of hardware you have, specifically the GPU...

openSUSE probably meets all of your requirements.

You're stuck between Fedora and Opens use when it comes to real Security, and all around ease of use.

1 Like

is your hardware PCI passthrough capable?

thats the first thing to answer as im guessing you want to setup a VM for gaming, you will need your GPU to do that..

there are some, oddities, with doing it that way. i.e. you will need a seperate video controller for the main OS (linux) and then either multiple monitors (one for each) or a monitor with multiple inputs.

also you need to consider your input devices, are you going to use some kind of KVM switch, or seperate devices?

there are already quite a few guides on this. but probably your best and easiest route is to just dual boot.

as for distro choice, easy to use is a subjective topic. being completely new to linux every distro will need some familiarising....