Switching Fully Over

Good morning.

I have been using linux on and off for a few years now and with all the changes to W10… i want it gone 100%

my issue is that i never know what distro/DE to go with and after i time and sulk back to windows and get more annoyed with myself because i didnt switch with it at all.

so here i am asking for advice what can i do/use. my pc is mainly uses for the gaming and most of my games run great via Lutris/Proton so thats a none issue. and anything i cant get to work via linux. ill have on my ps4 so windows/dual booting isnt needed.

Thanks for your time reading and i look forward to seeing what people think.

(P.S I have a complete dislike for *buntu and will not use it at all)

1 Like

Debian KDE is a very good choice. But you’re going to need to install all the non-free codecs and drivers on your own. Fedora is also very well supported and working. If you want something bleeding edge but manageable Manjaro is what I’ll go with.

1 Like

not much to add to the comment above except for:

use fedora, you’ll like it

I know when i last timed fedora i hated vanilla gnome and nvidia refused to work for me using rpmfusion

the one i was looking at was Solus KDE or Budgie.

KDE i just hate GTK and Qt apps looking so bad and not matching

Solus budgie is nice. Already took it for a spin. Only problem is lacking software on official repositories.

Dono if there is any packages not in the repos which i would need but i could use flatpak

then go ahead

there isn’t much you could lose except for time

Solus isn’t bad, you’ll see

Just distrohop around until you understand what you hate or love about a distro. Its all fair. Just make sure to separate your /home directory to another partition so that it makes distrohopping less painful. Also keep a list of your favorite/most used programs so that you can easily copy paste a “sudo apt install app1 app2 app3 etc” particularly for debian based distros.