Switching from console to PC gaming. Would like help on my part list/build

I have decided to make the switch from console to PC gaming. I have never built a PC before, and I don't know a lot about parts and stuff like that. I'm also new to the forums, so I'm just going to follow the "General Guidelines" post and try to be as specific as possible.

Budget - No specific budget, but I wouldn't mind getting it for cheaper that what it on my PcPartPicker list if it'll still be able to accomplish what I want it to do without sacrificing anything

Country/Currency - USA/USD

Retailer - No preference

Peripherals-  Yes. I already have a Ducky Shine 3 Green LED MX Red's Mechanical Keyboard along with a Razer Blackwidow Mouse, a copy of Windows 8.1, and a Astro A40 Headset. I am not worried about speakers since I already have a headset that I am happy with. I am currently using a laptop that has a 2.5 inch 750GB WD Black HDD. I know that a desktop PC uses a different size but I am hoping that I won't have to buy another and I will somehow be able to use the current HDD that I have on my new build. 

What will I be using the PC for - Gaming. I don't do rendering or video editing. All I will be using it for is gaming and surfing the web. 

Overclocking - Possibly. I don't 100% understand overclocking to be honest.

Watercooling - I have no clue. Once again, possibly. I've heard it's costly though, so if fan cooling will be sufficient then there is no need for watercooling unless it's absolutely needed.

Game settings/FPS - I want to be able to play at max settings with graphical mods with a really good FPS and absolutely no lag at all. 

Resolution - 1080p. I am not interested in 4k at the moment, but I might be interested in dual monitors. Not quite sure though, I'd be fine with a single monitor at the moment since this is my first build.