Surface Product as a Student?

I currently have a 17 inch Alienware laptop. I love everything about it except for the form factor. This thing is awful to lug around campus. I don’t really know what I expected :stuck_out_tongue:

What I am trying to say is buying that was a 2000 dollar mistake. One I will never forget. Now I need something more portable so I can actually do school work.

I am a computer engineering student, so I am taking a combination of CS classes and EE classes, with core math/science courses sprinkled in. I have been really attracted to the idea of using a Microsoft Surface product to replace my Alienware.

Is it really practical to use the Surface Pen and OneNote in class to take notes? Is there anything else I should be considering?

I’m a CS student also and I use a surface pro 3 as my laptop no problems. In my lecture hall if I looked there are actually plenty of people using surfaces. Taking notes with one note and the pen on the other hand I really don’t like. I still prefer the feel of good old pen and paper.

Edit: Surface products are expensive though and there’s probably alot of other dedicated laptops/Ultrabooks that would be much cheaper and do a similar amount of things that you need it to do.

Its not for everyone, but I’ve used a similar solution in a HP Spectre X360 13 inch with an active digitizer and stylus. I quite like it for use in class, but as Nacho said it isn’t for everyone. If you’re not one for the pen and OneNote solution, I’d really recommend a proper laptop over a tablet and keyboard case solution. Its a cool solution if you can really get a lot out of the pen, but otherwise having a solid hinge is preferable to me. I like the X360 because it’s a solid hinge that goes all the way around into a tablet formfactor. The Dell XPS 13 2 in 1 is also very close to my X360 and the new X360 in functionality, but the XPS hasn’t been updated to 8th gen cpus and it uses the lower wattage skews at that.