Stuttering in game

Hello! I have had my LG setup for a while now but I only just started gaming with it.

I started playing GTA V and I notice a lot of stuttering with fast movement, e.g. when driving around fast. If I stop driving fast for a while the framerate seems to catch up and the stuttering stops.

If I plug my monitor in directly to the guest GPU, I do not experience the stuttering. It feels as if LG or something in the pipe cannot keep up when the frames have many differences between each other.

My in-game framerate is >60FPS at all times. I have tried lowering the settings as much as possible, turning V-Sync on and off in game and tried to not go over 130 FPS since GTA V can’t handle it.

My setup:
Threadripper 2920x in NUMA mode
ASRock X399 Taichi
32GB 3200MHz RAM
Host GPU: AMD HD7950
Guest GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1070
Host OS: Arch 5.3.6-arch1-1-ARCH
Guest OS: Win 10 fully updated

Some info about the VM:
Q35 chipset
qemu v4.1.0-2
I have passed through one NUMA node with its corresponding 16GB of RAM. Guest GPU is plugged into PCIe slot going to that NUMA node.
CPU topology is 1 socket, 6 cores, 2 threads.

My monitor’s resolution is 4K, but I am running the Win 10 VM and the game in 1080p and letting LG(?) upscale the image. I tried setting 256MB of SHMEM in case it helped but it did not.

I am running the LG client with app:renderer=OpenGL since running it with EGL produces some kind of weird diagonal tearing and even more stuttering. I have tried with V-Sync on and off in the LG client but it did not make a difference. Having V-Sync enabled everywhere, I get 60 FPS in game, 60FPS and UPS in LG but the stuttering remains.

The CPU seems to be turbo-ing up correctly, I have nothing else running on the host or guest and RAM usage is ~ 50 - 60% on the guest and about 2GB on the host. Windows is set in high performance power option.