Student looking to get into their first c++ project

Hello everyone,
I am a student currently enrolled in a 4 year, and I have finished at this point 4 coding classes, (3 c++, 1 java) and I am currently enrolled in 5. However, this semester I feel that I am not being challenged and after speaking to one of my professors he suggested to look into an open source project.

What would the community suggest I do? Where would I start?
Keep in mind this will be my first project outside of the classroom, and my current knowledge is:
C++:
Objects Orientated Programming
Inheritance
Exception Handling (creating my own exceptions too)
Smart Pointers/ (Raw Pointers (to a large extent))
Move Semantics, Perfect Forwarding
STL libraries (vectors, maps, pairs, stacks, queues, etc)
Also know some bugs associated with using maps
Lambda Expressions
Templates
Variadic Templates
VERY basic concurrency
Know basic work around when two threads use one resource.
Basic Regular Expression
Barely touched on Dynamic Memory Allocator
Java:
Just the bare basics such as Classes, Inheritance, and Exception Handling,
JPanel

Final notes:
If it matters at all I got A’s on all my C++ classes, and a B in Java. In the four year I transferred into they have strong emphasis in Java and their graduate program is in Cyber Security. I like c++ more than java too. Alot more.

Current classes:
Advance Java (pretty much OOP)
Data Structures (using java)
Assembly (intro to MASM)
Programming Languages (touches lightly on several high level languages)
Computers and Society (an ethics course pretty much)

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

1 Like