Stripe or RaidZ1

So… I may have gone too far this time…

Plan is to have 1 as OS + images, etc… 5 on zfs, and the SSD is for backups.

Here is the question (I’m new to ZFS):
I am optimizing for IO, as this is meant for a devops/ml workload and for me IO is super important. given that I plan to continuously back up the VMs and the raw data gets backed up externally, should i go Raidz1 or Stripe ?

Mind you, I will likely burn through a drive every 12-24 months… from experience.

Also, I plan to add more drives in the future as needed

If IOPs is what you want, then mirrors are what to choose over RAIDZ1. In this case you’d have three vdevs of mirrored pairs.

That said, be warned that ZFS continues to have issues properly utilizing high performance flash due to being heavily optimized and hard coded for HDD’s. Things are being actively worked on, but it’ll take years for the devs to hunt down all the bottlenecks and split the system-wide HDD oriented tunings to per vdev. So ultimately you’ll still be trading performance for data safety, though only you can tell if that’s tolerable for your workload or not.

3 Likes

You look at higher endurance drives? or do you mean you will fill 2tb every 1-2 years?

im ok to replace a $200 every 1-2 years. its a concession i made

1 Like

sounds like Mirror isnt the move then until bugs/approach are ironed out, would RaidZ1 be good enough to just make sure that i can tolerate a single drive fail? i would prefer to have high read over high write as a concession

RAIDZ is worse in every aspect when it comes to IOPS. Mirrors are the fastest while still having redundancy for drive failure as well as the ability for self healing.

Stripe, maybe mirror for even higher read iops, put OS stuff on the QVO.

Backup over network if you need to.

1 Like

so im hearing a contradiction since @Log mentioned that Mirror isn’t the most stable for NVME

This is for ZFS in general, not specific to mirrors.