Spray paint stays sticky after drying (need help)

Hi everyone,

So I'm spray painting some brass fittings with silver spray paint, but after a day of drying it's still sticky. The pigment itself seems dry as none of that is coming off, but if I keep the pipe fittings on a smooth surface, eventually they're stick to each other. Anyone know where I'm going wrong with this? The spray can brand used is Rustolium.

I am not experienced with this at all, but I wonder if you need some sort of sealer when spraying certain materials?

this is enamel it takes days to dry. *wait ~4 days - week.

Some spray paint can take up a week to fully dry depending on the conditions, if its not dry after a week you could try buying come kind of clear coat and put that over the top

did you do a primer coat first?

This.....

You also need to remember that many factors can effect the drying time as well... things like room/ambient temp ( or lack of ) humidity, the material your painting and how thick the coat is....

1 Like

So right now I'm going for super light coats (to the point you barely see a difference per coating). So far it looks promising, after an hour; with coatings every 3 minutes or so, there's little to no sticky residue so far. I'll probably go with Josh_Mck advise and add a clear coat just to make sure this stuff stays on.

As for what the can says: it's 1hr touch dry and 24hrs for complete dry.

I'll let you guys know if my current approach works. I'll probably give it 3 days before I let it touch anything.

Ya.... that totally failed, I'm guessing with brass you either need special enamel spray for the base coating or a different painting method. On a side note, I'm thinking of just tinning it with solder.....

Update:
Just tinned one of them and it came out looking pretty nice. However, it's a lot of work including filing, buffing and cleaning out all the built up gunk from the process.