SoundCloud Go - A Blow to the Music Industry?

A lot of you guys know what SoundCloud is, and some of you probably actually use it, I would imagine. If, for some reason, you do not know what SoundCloud is, it's basically a place for people to share and discover music. I'm a music producer and I've used the site to share music of my own.

https://soundcloud.com/

Now that we got that out of the way, on to the main point.

What has happened with SoundCloud within the past two weeks that has prompted me to create this thread? Why can it be considered a "blow to the music industry"?

To answer the first question, On March 29 (exactly two weeks ago) SoundCloud launched their new subscription service that they call SoundCloud Go (let me point out that their free service is still available).

https://blog.soundcloud.com/2016/03/29/introducing-soundcloud-go/

Well, what exactly does this subscription service entail?

Well, if you're not an artist and only use the service to listen to music, the service gives you access to a larger catalog of music to listen to. This larger catalog of artists really only includes the big, mainstream artists, which I imagine a lot of you don't really care about anyway, so perhaps that isn't too bad (those of you who have used SoundCloud know that most of the music there comes from underground acts, which I find to be the reason the service is so popular to begin with). The service also allows to listen to tracks offline, and you get no ads. Those of you who use Spotify and/or similar services should be familiar with this model. In short, they basically adopted Spotify's model.

What does this new subscription service do for actual musicians?

Well, I find that their outline for SoundCloud Go for Creators is a bit vague, so I'll try to summarize as best as I can.