Sound Problems. Please Help!

Hi all!

Ill start by saying that I installed Ubuntu for the first time today, so I'm no expert. Everything is working fine (so far as I can tell), except audio. Basically its not working :( All I get is about 0.5sec 'crackle' at login and can get similar 'crackle' when testing sound in the Sound Settings. And even that is audible only when the system volume and headphones are turned very high. I have tried both standard Ubuntu 14.04 and GNOME (Ubuntu 14.10). Clean installed system 3 times still the same issue. Anyone have any experience with this? Any idea how to fix it?

Are you using PulseAudio or ALSA?

Check with:

sudo apt list --installed | grep pulseaudio

Also what soundcard(s) are you using

cat /proc/asound/cards

ALSA(?) or at least I was able to run it form terminal with:

alsamixer.

Anyhow, this is what I got with that command:

WARNING: apt does not have a stable CLI interface yet. Use with caution in scripts.

gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/trusty,now 0.10.31-3+nmu1ubuntu5 amd64 [installed,automatic]
gstreamer1.0-pulseaudio/trusty-updates,now 1.2.4-1~ubuntu1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
pulseaudio/trusty-updates,now 1:4.0-0ubuntu11.1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
pulseaudio-module-bluetooth/trusty-updates,now 1:4.0-0ubuntu11.1 amd64 [installed]
pulseaudio-module-x11/trusty-updates,now 1:4.0-0ubuntu11.1 amd64 [installed,automatic]
pulseaudio-utils/trusty-updates,now 1:4.0-0ubuntu11.1 amd64 [installed,automatic]

Cards:

0 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf7c34000 irq 48
1 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7c30000 irq 46

Also, tried LiveUSB and had the same problem.

Ok, you're using PulseAudio.
Please have a look at the PulseAudio log files (somewhere in /var/log/)
If you find anything suspicious, please post it here.

Also, check out this Section of the ArchWiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PulseAudio/Troubleshooting#Glitches.2C_skips_or_crackling