[SOLVED] OPNSense force Pihole/Unbound

Does anyone know, how i can FORCE every Client on the LAN, to use Pihole (with Unbound as upstream)?

Current Setup looks like the following:
Opnsense VM on Proxmox
Pihole with Unbound as an LXC on the same host

What i try to accomplish:

If Client → Pihole → Website
If Client → !Pihole → Forced to Pihole (or Blocked) → Website

I tried some stuff but it doesnt work as Intended. Either i get no Name Resolution at all or Clients can still override the DNS. I am fairly new to OPNSense and that much customization, but maybe someone wants to take the time to explain how i can force DNS Querries to Pihole, which then Upstreams to Unbound which uses Root DNS.

Thanks in advance!

I would use DHCP to assign the DNS server you want and just block DNS ports to everything else. Unless someone is manually changing the DNS server this will force things to use the default DHCP assigned DNS server.

I don’t know specifically but there are ways to intercept and redirect/alter DNS requests but this won’t work with DNSSEC or any kind of encrypted DNS.

Yeah, i set the DNS Server in the DHCP section in OPNSense, but if i specify another DNS Server on my Machine, i can just bypass PiHole. I want to mitigate that. No other DNS should be usable, except for 192.168.2.11, which is my PiHole/Unbound combo.

Is there any specific set of rules i have to set ?

Atm, with my little knowledge, i can accomplish a block of 1.1.1.1, if I specify that exact IP in the Rules, but whenever i just block UDP/53 i can access my PiHole anymore, but any other DNS Server just fine and sites load. Something isnt quiet right here…

I haven’t used opnsense so I don’t know the specifics but so long as you block port 53 and allow it to your DNS server that should work. If you block port 53 and DNS is still working then likely the rule is configured wrong. Post a screenshot if you like and I’ll have a look.