[Solved] GTX 1070 overclock - I'm not satisfied

So my new EVGA GTX 1070 SC is a fantastic upgrade from my 2GB 770 but I feel like I got robbed because of a seemingly strange & lackluster amount of clockability.

I've got +50 Mhz on top of the factory OC for 2.0 Ghz boost
and 4.4 ghz on the memory.

The thing is, my power target is 112% max, Far Cry 4 and GTAV give me 63 C consistently.
I feel like I've got more headroom.. So why can't I get there?

Please note, I have very little knowledge about adjusting voltage manually so I played it safe and didn't do that.

I'm new to the forums and Overclocking, so if anyone has any constructive criticism or a few words on adjusting voltage, I would be happy to hear it.

Most 1070s are 1830-1870mhz for the boost clock from factory. So if yours was 1950mhz then they already clocked the CRAP out of it so a extra 50mhz, I'm not surprised. In special cases some people can get ~2.1ghz from the 1070.

1 Like

Have you tried letting Nvidia's Boost 3.0 in EVGA's software to do the overclocking? The Boost 3.0 is so good it will boost most Pascals to 2.0+Ghz.

Thanks for the quick responses.
I haven't messed with the new V/F curve; just good ol' Precision X 16 style. That's for the same reason as my refraining from manual voltage increase: I don't understand it enough to feel comfortable with it.

its already overclocked...

and Nvidia will automatically boost to the optimum past the already overclocked spec...

Use afterburner and monitor your boost clocks dynamicly and you will see it is overclocking itself past its factory overclock. With Nvidia there is no need to overclock it will do it better itself

I have the top tier FTW version and i can even add 50mhz to the clock without GTA crashing, but if I let Boost 3.0 do it dynamically it will boost easily another 120mhz+

I am letting GPU boost 3 do its thing. I monitor my card's specs in game; I see it go up and down. I just think there's something missing

what is missing?