[SOLVED]C programming rand() in a set

Basic beginner here. I’m trying to figure out how to get a random number from the following set:

“1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16”

My knowledge on the rand() is that it can’t take any parameters. Generating a random number from a continuous range is no problem. Get the range then rand() % range - min. However, I’m really racking my brain to figure out how to get a random number from a non-continuous set like the one above.

Up to this point, the book I’m using has not covered arrays or any type of loop. Very basic. I see there is a sequence of adding 3 to itself in that set. Without looping or using an array (ive seen many examples using an array and loops), how can I pull a random number from a similar set?

If you are trying to get a random number from the set of numbers represented. Assume that each number is associated by a natural number. rand() will produce any number in the set of natural numbers. When you use modulus you can make its co domain the size you want it. The natural numbers that you get are then bijective with the set of numbers you want.

int index = rand() % 6;
int* values = malloc(6 * sizeof(int));
values* = 1;
(values+1)* = 4;
(values+2)* = 7;
(values+3)* = 10;
(values+4)* = 13;
(values+5)* = 16;
printf("%i", (values+index)*);
free(values);

So in this case, you have 6 numbers right?

this is roughly all you need to do

int random1 = rand()%6;
int random2 = -1;
switch(random1)
case 0 :
random2 = 1;
break;
case 1 :
random2 = 4;
break;
case 2 :
ran…

You get the point?

Just generate a random set of numbers and project them using preferably a switch case or optionally an if else. Pretty simple.

Another option is to create an array of values, and again rand()%(array_length)

Then take the array[random value] to find the new value. Technically the simplest method you could use.

I have a little gripe with your example code.