Slowly planing a move to norway, if you live there i could use some advice :D

Hi :slight_smile:
So, i have been looking at norway with big eyes a hope for a couple years now, and will start to move toward that goal very soon.

I am a sysadmin, so obviously i like tech and work with it every day. If youā€™re here, chance is that you do to !

This is why my first question for you is, what city would you recommend to visit first ? (keep in mind i am not doing some tourist thing, i am looking for a place to live :wink: )

In the next couple month i will plan a big trip across the country to checkout Big city and there border, cost of living, mentality of the people ā€¦ thing like that.

I have a list of the 4 bigest city right now

• Oslo
  • Bergen
  • Stavanger
  • Trondheim

Because i am leaving the Paris border in order to find more ā€¦ ā€œcivilizedā€ people, i am not sure i could live happy in or around Oslo

Do you have anywhere else good to checkout ?

I do not worry about finding a job immediately, as my current company is willing to sign a 2Y freelance contract for me to settle and find a job locally. But the area still need to have some tech job and fiber.

1 Like

Eg e fra BƦƦƦƦƦƦƦrrrrrrgeeeen

Translation:
ā€œI am from Bergenā€.

If you lived in Norway, youā€™d laugh at that one :stuck_out_tongue:

From that list of cities youā€™ll learn one thing pretty quickly: they are very different places. If you intend to learn the language then maybe Oslo would be best, as if you learned the Trondheim dialect it would be really hard for you to understand other dialects. Itā€™s not as bad if you learned the Bergen dialect, but there are still huge differences in east, west, south, mid and north Norwegian language. The further off the beaten path you get, the harder it is to learn the language.