Should We Be Using Add-on Extensions In Browser

I am curious, I have 5 extensions that I have been using for the past two years since I discovered them. But I want to know if they are secure, how secure are they, and what rights do the developers or extensions themselves have to our internet traffic data?

Https Everywhere
Ublock Origin
Privacy Badger
Cookie Autodelete
Decentraleyes

Seems to me, the way the IC works, companies that want your data work, is they will target whatever the users use the most. Its effective at capturing as much data as possible. So does it make sense to not use them? But to use other means for security or privacy?

Thanks

1 Like

Uh you can just download the .crx extension and extract them like a zip archive and check the sourcecode if you want, or search them up on github/gitlab and check the sourcecode there and then compile them yourself, no other way to be 100% sure but to check yourself.

1 Like

These three addons are practically obsolete. EFF has formally closed HTTPS everywhere and the primary dev of Privacy Badger has said that using this product has actually increased your tracking now.

You should probably add NoScript or uMatrix in the mix.

These are all available in the Mozilla addon page. A lot of security people that actually know how these works (excluding me) are using this. If something is up, people will know and complain in the interwebs. People are very good at complaining over the internet. They will scream it in your face if you are doing it wrong.

5 Likes

I use both of these.

You can set it to break the internet by default.

It does not stop the big ad companies tracking you, but it Feels like it reduces it.
Even if it is false comfort.

2 Likes

IDK why would you use it if it didnā€™t work?

1 Like

For the false sense of security of course.

If all the ads are blocked, It give the feeling that the ad companies donā€™t get the impression with my ip, a timestamp and metadata, etc.