Setting Up External Drives On Ubuntu

I currently cannot create a NAS. My goal is to have two large external hard drives with data mirrored between them, that I can access through a normal computer running Ubuntu. I would like the data to be encrypted and compressed. I’ve heard that ZFS is the way to go, but am fine with BTRFS if that is better for the situation. I would like to be able to then scan for and fix errors with the drives. I’m a complete Linux noob, so if someone could point me to a tutorial (or tutorials) that would be great (including how to add/delete a file from one and have it automatically apply to the other if possible).

Thank you.

Welcome to the forum!

What is your plan? Leave this Ubuntu box 24/7? Do you plan to unplug the drives often? As for ZFS on USB, I would advise against it. Just not on USB. You are at your own risk if you do that, ZFS really complains if it cannot find drives or pools during bootup (if you don’t export them properly). And the order they are detected also matters (which is why WWN is preferable in any setup, rather than using the OS assigned names).

You can enable zstd compression on btrfs. Given that btrfs is integrated with the kernel better, I suspect it will have a better time interacting with the USB drives, just like a normal ext4 formatted USB drive. But encryption is not a feature in btrfs, you’d have to use LUKS.

The setup smells fishy. Please give us more details on how you plan on running it.

A mirror does that automatically. If you plan on having data on a drive and a backup on the other, that is something else. Also, RAID is not a backup.

I believe I’ve done sort of what you suggest to do. I would not really recommend it as it is generally warned against, and I generally agree with @ThatGuyB s points.

But I’ll tell you what I did: