Set up an email server

Not too sure if this is the right sub forum to throw this in, regardless. I'm intrigued about setting up my own email server. From the little amount of research I have done it seems extremely hard to do. On top of the difficulties of creating and running one, I live in an apartment with my one computer. I don't know if I could run a server while running windows (I'm sure I couldn't), so I've pretty much given up hope on getting one going. Not to mention I am a novice at writing even HTML so any real coding would take me substantial time to learn.

Despite these setbacks I am still curious about what It would take. Probably a dedicated server (though I imagine a crappy old comp might work?), and a lot of coding and upkeep to make sure it runs smoothly?

I don't know, would anyone care to set me straight? Maybe its not as hard as I'm thinking, or maybe it would be impossibly hard for someone like me.

Thanks 

Checkout http://www.iredmail.org/

I've never done this myself, but I know webmin has the ability to configure postfix. I'm as clueless as you about how to use it though. Want me to lend you a Debian VPS and we can mess about with this? Shouldn't take much to host a mail server locally 

You better know alot about things like DNS about how the certs and keys work or you will get rooted and every one that uses it will too.

Oh no I wasn't gonna use it on a regular basis, I wasn't even going to port forward it if I didn't have to. I don't trust my skills that much yet XD

I dunno about hosting it from your house, most residential(?) IPs get blocked form communcating with email servers I think, cause spam. Ars Technica did a big guide on setting up your own email server a while ago I think.

I can't imagine that would work, how would Outlook communicate with an exchange server? (this may not be how i think it works but seems like it would break a lot to do that)