Server RAM throughput Determination

I am a systems administrator in the Aerospace manufacturing industry and I have found a gap in my knowledge that isn’t getting filled by Google.
I’m in the process of replacing a 15 year old hyper-v cluster and I am interested in using Epyc CPUs but I’m not sure if I can get away with a single socket due to memory demand. Without using Load reduced DIMMS I can only put in 512GB per socket which would put us right at our current need and I would like to have an upgrade path for the future since we have an ever increasing load.
My question is, how to I determine if the memory IOPs are low enough that I can safely switch to LRDIMMs without seeing a performance bottleneck? I’m hoping for a number similar to average disk queue depth or something like that to determine how close the current cluster is to being bottlenecked by RAM performance.
Any thoughts are welcome.

Do you have a service contract with any of the big players that would be able to sample you some hardware?

I suspect that is the only way to test it, short of sending a test workload (non commercially sensitive) to a vendor to give you performance numbers)

I remember doing that 20 years ago with a rig for CFD that was IOPS bound, in the end we built it and sent back the hardware we couldn’t use.

We have a service contract with HP but I don’t think they will be willing to sample us hardware. The contract has been tenuous at best over the time they have been servicing it.

How did you determine that the rig was IOPS bound? Or was it just through testing new hardware?

We wrote some test data loads to see how quickly (time stamps) and how accurately (reference frames) it would capture a simulated camera output. In the end we got the throughput and write speed needed with a raid controller an a handful of SCSI 3 drives. This was way before SSDs were a thing and we couldn’t do in memory processing with what was then only a few gigs of ram.