Separate disks for OS and work files (web dev, programming)

Hi folks!

I plan on adding more storage to my computer that I use for programming, gaming and some light video editing.

My use case scenario:
Because I’m studying computer science, I play around with multiple programming languages. (mostly C#, Java and MySql)
For my well-being, I’m doing some web development that consists in: ReactJS for the front-end, NodeJS for the back-end and Adobe Suite (PS, AI) for design.
I’m also doing some light video editing in Premier Pro - a 10 minutes video once or twice a week.

Now, I’ve got a 250gb ssd for OS, programs, IDE and working files, projects + 1 TB HDD for vms, back-ups, games and finished projects - and it’s relatively fine.
I want to know if there’s any substantial benefit (performance wise) of adding another ssd just for the working files?
If there is, I have a budget of around 120$. For this amount, I can buy a 500gb 850 EVO or a 250gb 960 EVO nvme drive.

What do you think?

1 Like

Hey bud, your ideal setup is what I’m rocking now.

If you migrate your VMs from the HDD to SSD, you’ll see an uptick in VM performance, especially when running multiple systems at a time.

I have my OS/Application drive, my Projects drive, and my Lab drive. OS/Application is Debian Stretch with Jetbrains, Steam, and some others. Projects is where all the templates, files, databases, and software projects are stored. Lab is where all of my VMs, snapshots, and (oddly enough), games are stored.

Prior to having the Lab drive, I was getting decent performance out of my VMs when I had multiple systems online and IDEs/Editors a plenty open. Adding the Lab drive has allowed me to isolate my virtual environments, which have given less of a “bottleneck” when running 5+ virtual machines.

Mostly all in my head I’m sure, but I’ve seen disk utilization go down on all drives, which is nice.

1 Like