Self-hosted clip sharing web app

I guess I’ll join the Devember hype, since Wendell and the gang keep badgering us about it on the news… :slight_smile:

Real quick about me, I’ve been working as a software engineer for around 10 years now. For most of my career, I’ve been a one-man-team full stack software engineer, creating utilities for various Norwegian internet service providers. I currently work as a test automation engineer and network orchestration engineer at nordic/european telecom provider (I play with Cisco NSO, Jenkins and Robot Framework, if that means anything to you :slightly_smiling_face:). In my free time I tinker with personal coding projects, polish my home automation setup, build computers and play video games.

I few months ago I made a quick and simple self-hosted clip sharing application to share gaming clips with a few friends. My motivations were:

• Uploading to YouTube or Streamable takes a long time and destroys the quality of my clips
  • Uploading to Dropbox and sending links is inconvenient for my friends, as they have to download the entire clip before watching it, which can take a looooong time from Dropbox
  • I want to be able to save a clip and immediately send a link to somebody. That link should let my friend immediately stream it in full quality directly from my clip folder.

I made a quick application using Next.js that does this, and it works fantastically! However, the only form of security is currently a NGINX reverse proxy with an ACL, and there are some features that are missing for this to be generally useful to other people.

Here’s a quick overview of the current functionality:

• Runs in a Docker container with my clips folder mounted
  • When a user opens the application in a browser all the clips are listed, sorted by file name, with file size and creation date of the file