Seeking programming project for high school diploma paper

hey guys

i gotta write a paper for my high school diploma. i would really love to write a small open source program. i have some experience in python, but i could also learn something new. it really doesn't matter what it is about, as long as it is somewhat useful to someone.

so if you have an idea what i could do or just a direction i would really appreciate it. thanks.

to search what, your parameters are to broad

edit: What do you want to search, just something to search up plaintext files, or do you want to make a bot to search websites up, how big do you want to go man?

I'll just give you a short list of what I've seen people do, since you probably can't make up your mind.
CMS in PHP, a smart environmental sensor using raspberry pi, a steganography utility, some mathematical algorithms, Conway's game of life, various things like that.

sorry for the misleading title. it's not about a program that searches something, but about a program in general. as i said i have some experience but really not a lot, but i could invest quite a lot of time (i have about 8 months time from now) in it. i'm sorry i can't give you any more specifics about the dimensions but i don't have enough experience to specify how much i could do.

thanks for your answer though

What is your scope of interests? I mean what do you like to program or what field interests you?
Plus we don't really know your programming knowledge. I'd personally assign you to develop an algorithm that solve a particular mathematical problem. Or I could give you something to write for an arduino board. But it could be too easy or too difficult.

thanks for your reply
solving a mathematical problem was one of my first thoughts. just didn't know what problem. as i said i can't really evaluate how difficult of a problem i can take on. do you know any specific mathematical problems?