Seeking BTC/Bitcoin Wallet/Exchange Advice

I’m a newbie in the crypto realm but recently bought some on Robinhood (RH). Since then, I’ve learned that there are some issues with using RH, the most important, as I understand is that you don’t have the ability to download the BTC to your own wallet but seem to own “shares” of BTC that RH actually owns and your shares are treated something like stock options allowing you to only convert them back to cash. There may be other RH issues that I am not familiar with.

I think that I understand there to be three main types of BTC wallets: software, mobile, and hardware. I don’t fully understand the difference between these, but what I think I did learn is that each of these have “flaws” via which it is possible for either someone to steal the BTC or for you to otherwise loose access them.

Being a bit of a coward in this realm, I felt safer with going with an exchange and an SEC regulated brokerage such as RH – yes, I know that the SEC doesn’t yet regulate/illegalize BTC – would be safer than one of the three (that I know of) that have absconded with their user’s assets.

Believing that BTC will appreciate, it is my intention to hold long term, but I don’t know to safely or efficiently convert what I have at RH to something that will be entirely in my control.

Also, I don’t know of an exchange that is trustable, permits me to download to a wallet, and has low fees.

Can anyone offer advice/education on wallets and exchanges?

Brian

============================================
Addendum:

Thank you to all who have replied.

Regarding “trustable exchanges”: I meant that I want to avoid scam exchanges such as KuCoin, Mt.Gox, BitMex, Lukki, Gate.io, Negocie, Coinplace, IQFinex, Hotbit, FEX, WCX, EzBtc, Fedlio, etc. Both RH & Coinbase seem to be as safe as I can expect from an exchange.