School or Career?

Hello all,

I am fairly new to the field of computers, software, and electronics in general in the grand scheme of things, however I know that I want a career dealing with servers and networks because that’s been my main interest since being introduced to the hobby. I am currently going to college majoring in CS, and doing all I can to get through it so that I can move toward a career. There is a job listing near me, adjacent to the server space, that I am very interested in.

My question to you all is if you would recommend trying to find a job in the field asap to get projects under my belt, or if I should continue and finish my schooling first and then seek out a career?

Any answers or feedback is welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

I personally got a job and skipped higher education. My employer has given me more training and skills needed than I would of learnt and more real world skills needed to get a job in IT.

5 Likes

In some cases, both go together.

4 Likes

Why not both!

Do a local community college for all the boring core requirements like math and writing. Go to a local state school with a good liberal arts program and a decent computer science or math department.

This way you can live off campus which is a huge part of the expense, and you wont be paying for a “name or brand” like a private school.

The reason I suggest a strong liberal arts program is because critical thinking and problem solving in my experience pay far better than any skills driven education.

My java programming has been far less useful than my classes in theory like Operating systems.

At the same time, work! either part time, summers, or summers and internships. I dont recommend working full time because school requires lots of time and effort otherwise it can be a bit of a waste.

You can always make more money, but your peak learning period and the trajectory you put yourself on are really formative from 20-30 years old.

2 Likes