Samsung, Micron, Hynix sued for alleged DRAM price fixing

seem legit?

5 Likes

While I’m no expert and could be wrong, I’ve thought for a long time from the outside looking in “why haven’t they been able to bring up production by now?” something doesn’t smell right about the whole situation.

1 Like

Ha. Assholes. I like hynix ram, but not that much.

1 Like

This isn´t totally unexpected. Let´s see what comes from this.

“Oh, a lawsuit. Guess we’ll just have to raise chip prices to cover the expenses!”

-Samsung/Hynix/Micron

16 Likes

Who would have seen this coming :roll_eyes:

The ideal outcome would be to rob them of their profits they made over the year with the increased price. So this would stop. I mean how can this happen for the 3rd? time…

It’s been pretty obvious pc parts prices have been up higher than they needed to be for awhile now, starting with dram. Look at that samsung press release that was mentioned in a level1 news episode about 4 or 5 weeks ago- production shut down at a samsung facility for a few hours, and that was going to affect the entire year’s memory supply. Yeah, right.
On the other hand, the article said this law firm involved had a similar case awhile back, and got a $300 million settlement. That is a class-action settlement, so everyone involved probably got less than a dollar. But the lawyers probably got paid millions each.
I looked up the ram I installed on my build 3 years ago, it’s ddr3, and it costs more now than it did then. How did ddr3 prices get affected by a ddr4 shortage? I’ve heard it’s because people were going back to Z97 Mo-boards to escape ddr4 prices, but lets get real. That would mean no possible upgrade path, no M.2 drives, no usb 3.1. Even if I could save $50 on a new build, I wouldn’t want to give up those features?
I would hope the companies get punished, but only low-level peons get jail time. But I do hope the lawyers also fall off thier new yachts and get eaten by sharks. Fuckers.

1 Like