Ryzen 3660x and 6700xt SAM steps

Hi All,

I have a question for the brain trust here. I am not very technical when it comes to hardware. However, I want to brave and set my PC to use SAM. My motherboard is tuff x570 wifi plus, I know I will need to update the bios, I have a Samsung sdd 970 evo plus PCIE 3.0. This drive has the OS and games installed. Now I have heard that I will need to separate the game files to another drive. Should I get another m.2 drive? A step by step guide would be great, if it’s not too much to ask. thank you all.

I assume that by SAM you meant Smart Access Memory which is also known as Resizable BAR, or ReBAR.

This is a feature which allows the operating system to read and write to all of the GPU memory instead of only a 256 MB block at a time. Although I believe that the GPU was always able to initiate DMA transfers from any host memory it wanted to, so this was not that big of an issue.

But I am lost as to how your NVMe drive comes into the question. Are you maybe thinking about Windows Direct Storage feature? That sets up data transfers directly from NVMe storage to GPU VRAM. There is demo code doing the same thing in Linux but I don’t know of any standards or libraries to support using it in apps.

Also, I don’t believe that there is any requirement to use SAM with Direct Storage, since the DMA bypasses the BAR anyway. (As far as I know.)

1 Like

Well I’ve done the bios update and enabled the smart access memory options. But the bios can’t see any boot drives!

So an update on the issue. My OS is installed on a NVMe drive. For what ever reason when switching the CSM to disabled hid my boot drive. So I can still keep my OS on the NVME and still enable SAM. I’m running windows 10 pro
Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. Just taking small steps to learn this stuff.

CSM is Compatability Support Module. It is required to boot off any drive using the old DOS MBR partition type.