RX 480 Dead or Driver issue?

Hello everyone i need your help, i have a little issue with my GPU and im not sure if its a driver issue or if its on its last legs. I include a video link, please if you have any idea of whats going on please let me know, i cannot be without a PC(i am a developer). Beside the problem in the video, sometimes Windows locks up and the GPU starts blinking(white)

System:

CPU: AMD 1700

MB: ASUS X370 PRIME PRO

GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 8GB OC

RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE WHITE 16GB 3000MHZ 15CL (MEMTESTED, TEST OK)

PSU: CS750M CORSAIR(80+ GOLD)

Link of the video: https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZQ4TfyhHQaNR5Tmq8

Best regards and thank you in advance,

Edmond Roman

1 Like

If you depend on the PC, order any cheap GPU just to have it on hand.

To me the flicker looks like dead hardware.

What OS are you running? Can you lower the clockspeed on the core or memory?(can you run wattman?) How are the temps?

I have an RX480 that will not let me use drivers in Windows 10, no matter what I try but runs perfect in LInux MInt

I have not seen any of these issues on Manjaro, but he bigger issue is that im more dependent on Windows 10, because im a C# developer and the software im working on is on Windows, idle temps are in the high 40s (46-48) with no fan, and about 65 after 10 minutes running Heaven. But the flicker only happens, when i run a game or i debug(i code 3D application) and simultaneously on the other monitor watch a video( usually YouTube), but more interestingly i havent encountered the issue if the video is lower 720p60 or under. So if i only run a game or only code there is no issue, also the windows lock up and GPU blinking gives the impression that it might be a driver issue(after restart it works fine, i get the little pop up that GPU settings were reset) but i have tried all sort of drivers older, newer(since yesterday i have installed the optional driver from AMD and haven`t had a lock up yet)

Interesting behaviour.