Request: how-to guide for PC security

Hello

I didn’t find any instructions on how/where to post these types of how-to requests on the forum. I was planning to ask on discord but chat is disabled for new members. I’m a noob and I have lots of general questions regarding PC security. Below are things I’d like to ask the L1 community regarding those topics.

Questions on torrenting:

• What steps do you take to avoid downloading malware or viruses?
  • To have anonymity, is it best to use a VPN?
  • Is there a good verity of sites to use without Tor?
  • When searching through items to download, what are some red flags to look out for?

Questions on PC security:

• If I am unable to set up my own VPN, what is the next best VPN service to choose?
  • What is your antivirus, antispyware, and antimalware set up? Do you use a paid subscription for one piece of software, or do you use a group of different free software each for a specific purpose?
  • Do you use any browser plug-in for additional security or to prevent tracking?
  • In the past I’ve used the security planner in the link below. If you’re a security expert, what would you add to the planner that CR missed? (phttps://securityplanner.consumerreports.org/)

Thanks to anyone that replies with some insight or links to helpful info elsewhere on the forum.

2 Likes

Hi! Welcome to the forum!

If you want to post on the Discord, I think you need to go to the Rules or Roles tab, and click on there.
You might have to accept the TOS.

As for torrenting, there are legitimate sources of torrents.
If you start a torrent from a trusted site (like a linux distro site) then compare the hash when complete, then you can rest assured the file is either clean, or everyone getting the file will have the same bug, and all will be affected.