Repurposing Old Hardware For Linux Server

Hi Everybody
I am new to Linux and want to re-purpose an old rig for use as a storage/plex server. I’m working with a Core 2 duo, an ASUS p5q pro motherboard, 4 gigs of GSkill memory, two WD black drives (matching models), and an NVIDIA 650. I also have a couple 2.5 hard drives I can use for OS.

I’m making this a project for my son and I and would like to use CentOS for stability reasons. I’ve watched videos on the virtues of ZFS, but from what I’ve read, it doesn’t come natively with CentOS. Would it be a problem to use ZFS with CentOS 7, or should I stick with the native file system? Also, if anybody can see hardware conflicts, a heads up would be great.

1 Like

If that is what you have than I say go for it. Possibly since your new just use the existing filesystem. If you want to try Ubuntu 18.04 than it is super easy to get zfs going on it.
What size are the drives?

1 Like

Hardware should be quite happy with Linux

Booting Live ISO USB to install should show everything working

Debian can do ZFS too

You would need to install Debian or Ubuntu
(keep it simple and start with ext4 first)
then install packages for ZFS on the 2 WD drives later

1 Like

I say go for it too. I have a Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM with Ubuntu running some network shares.
Now, in the file system realm, before you go slapping ZFS on everything that’s connected to a network, read this. You can try to do it, but just don’t get too upset if stuff’s not going great. Anyway, have fun :smile:.

1 Like

Yeah, hardware should be fine for a small home server.

I’d say skip ZFS. ZFS Needs RAM. And in this context lots of it. It is recommended to start with 4G and add another Gig per TB of Storage. Plus ECC is recommended.