Replacement router

Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help, as I'm a complete noob when it comes to routers...

I have a BT Business Hub 5, and it's starting to randomly disconnect and re-connect all the time, BT just take me through the "have you tried turning it on and off again BS" and say my line is fine, however it does sound like it's your router... You can have a new one sent to you for £100 (same one).

Sooo, now Im on the hunt for a decent router. I have 4 wi-fi devices, 3 connect on the 2.4ghz band and 1 on the 5ghz band.

This router constantly disconnects if I have FTP set to use max bandwidth and if I am using team viewer.

What do you guys recommend? Nothing too tech geek out, reasonable price and will get the job done and done well?

Thanks

My first recommendation is always PFsense on an old pc and a Ubiquiti Ac lite or Pro. For your environment a lite would do just fine.
If you want something that i personally have run and actually am running at work for internet for our two mechanic offices is this one. Serves about ten people wirelessly on average.

You will want to follow this and bridge your modem.
https://btbusiness.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/35226/~/how-do-i-enable-bridge-mode-on-my-bt-business-hub-5%3F/c/5098/

1 Like

The BT router is modem also, is the archer a modem also? As the BT business hub needs to be thrown in the bin.

What's your price range?

£1 to £100 - Amazon UK is where I will order it from

You will put the bt modem in bridge mode i gave you a link on my reply. The TP-link is just a router/access point. Let me know if you need any help.

The BT Business Hub is loosing connection all the time, (I don't loose wi-fi connections), which is why I need to put it in the bin.

I have 4 devices connected via wi-fi, my work computer is connected via the LAN cable.

Copy ill see what i can round up for you. Possibly if you put in bridge mode it would fix it but I understand not a chance you want to take.

1 Like