recommendations for a new pc?

hey everyone, i’m thinking of finally switching off of my laptop and going to a pc to play competitive, my current laptop setup has a gtx 1050TI and an i7 7700hq. not bad and can run 144fps smooth in creative but in stacked lobbies it just gets too hot and i get frame dips which really affect gameplay.
anyways, i’m a student on a tight budget (under 1k euros) what specs can you guys recommend for a gaming pc? gonna be editing vids on it too. i don’t care about aesthetics and stuff strictly performance. must be able to run 144fps constantly
only need a tower BTW i have all the other peripherals
fortnite competitive will be the most tasking thing on the system

Fortnite will run on a potato. There is tons of options to get that done. Let’s look at the video editing first. What software do you edit on?

I was bored …

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/sqN9gJ

This would be my recommended “do everything” build.
Overall solid performance, quiet, efficient, very easy to upgrade.

2 Likes

There are three things you have left out:

1. What is your preferred resolution (1080, 1440 or 4k)? Assuming 1080.
  2. How much more storage do you need? I am assuming you already got a dog-slow mechanical harddrive.
  3. Do you need any extra expansion cards like a capture card?

Nice build, but at $189 for a 580, it’s better to buy a 5500 XT for roughly the same price. Also, we europeans tend to include shipping, sales tax and customs in our budget, this means a €1000 system is equivalent to a $750-$800 system. :slight_smile:

Better compromise build IMO: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/HjJdL2

Rationale: Stock 3600 cooler is quite adequate, 5500 XT will be supported longer and costs just as much, and the Aorus Pro B550 is good enough for this use case. Full build is smaller without sacrificing upgradeability and performance, and budget is much closer to what OP wants.

This assumes some scavenging for hard drives will be made from the old system though.