RDP to Ubuntu server 20.04 other ideas for remoting in?

Hello,
I’m new to the whole server thing here and I have recently gotten a 1u server that I installed Ubuntu server 20.04 on. I am trying to set up a way to remote into it and seem to be hitting a wall. I have installed the xrpd packages and when I try to remote into the machine from windows 10 all I get is a black screen. Any ideas to help would be appreciated. Also if there is another easier way I am up for trying that as well.

Thanks

1 Like

Not setting up ssh?

(can ignore the git part)
1 Like

You could check out Cockpit? It’s in the repos
It does not have a GUI, but has a terminal, and graphical settings, similar to freenas interface, kinda…
Or maybe Webmin? (I never used it myself)

1 Like

I will when I get it set up for access over the interwebs but for my local network I was just going to try to get RDP working if I could

1 Like

x2go perhaps?

I’ve used it on some headless setups.

rdp isnt really a popular thing for linux.

theres VNC but I think you’re expecting something to be a particular way and it just isnt. Ubuntu server doesnt even have a GUI in the traditional sense out of the box.

I agree with @Trooper_ish that cockpit would be a good place to start. It gives you a web interface. Most of the linux server experience is going to be spent at a terminal via SSH or some webmin interface sometimes.

I think you have a windows like expectation of a linux server and this is unfortunately not the reality of things. Its not your fault that you have this expectation either since its probably what you know and so of course you’d look for similar functionality… however linux is a very different animal. You will have to break the mindset that you can use linux in a similar fashion to windows.

• To connect to the terminal remotely via windows I highly recommend mobaxterm, or putty.
  • Cockpit can be installed giving you the option of connecting to a web interface, which also has terminal access.