Rasberry Pi AMP hats

Are they worth it? Which one to get for an emulation/video streaming box? I’ve got a multitude of speakers from shelf style speakers on up to some big floor speaker set, the Yamaha NS-A1237 and Technics SB-2660, so more power = more better so as to power the “big guns” if at all possible.

This will be my first Raspberry Pi anything, but I’ve been using Linux for many years now and am looking for a good useful project that might also help to get rid of some old hi-fi equipment for a setup that uses less power and space to provide equivalent audio performance and increased capabilities over the old PC lined out to an old component system, most of which goes unused these days with all of my music digitized.

I have not seen an RPi AMP that could power normal book shelf speakers. I have seen the AMPs that are good for headphones or conditioning the line to then send to a receiver.

The RPi can pull 2 AMPS max due to the power delivery system. You could save money and go with an ASUS ticker board or another RPi clone that has much better audio delivery capabilities out of the box. None of these will be able to push the wattage that you need for stand alone speakers though.

Either way, you will need a hat that takes in its own power source and amplifies the speakers that way. I have not seen anything like this ready made. You will more than likely need to build it from scratch.

I haven’t used any of their stuff but I remembered seeing it in an email. The specs mentions “Maximum power output of 2 x 55 W ( 2 x 30 W RMS).” For that price it would probably be cheaper to buy a used receiver locally and hook the TV up to it. Depending on how loud you really need it then you might not need that much. At my desk I have a smaller pair of speakers running off one of these: