Ransomware Prevention Idea

I just thought of an idea to prevent ransomware that encrypts the hard drive. I am not an expert in this field, so would like some feedback. It is very simple. Maybe this has already been thought of before.

Would it be viable to have a policy in OS that prevents file encryption without master password? Which would obviously prevent the malware from encrypting the drive without it.

The nature of malware is about circumventing security measures altogether. So, no.

4 Likes

So should I just disable all the security measures on my computer? such as anti-virus, firewall, etc…

The big problem is that an OS doesn’t know that a file is being encrypted. It only sees program A open file B, change the file or replace it with one that has different content, then move on to file C, do the same with that, then file D, etc etc.

You can’t just stop programs from making changes to files, otherwise you’d have to enter your master password every time you save a file, change a setting in the game, whenever your Windows decides to update or make a system restore point.
You’d end up with a Vista-like security system, which will get annoying real quick and will be disabled by people.

6 Likes

Thus far the absolute best way to protect yourself is frequint backups of ALL data from ALL devices on a network and store the backups offline and away from potentially infected devices., in that case, you can simply restore from a backup and go.

1 Like

That is exactly what I do.

1 Like

So the issue I see here is that the OS can’t differentiate between making changes to a file, and encrypting it. Maybe if you setup something that could just detect encryption methods. This would not stop malware from deleting or changing files on the drive. But at least they wouldn’t be able to hold anything for ransom.

problem being is the method would either have to

• have a list of all encryption methods and cross check the list