RAM not shipped in ESD bag/foam/etc.?

I just bough some G SKILL RAM and it came in a clear plastic container. I’ve never seen a device with exposed PCB get shipped like this. Thankfully it worked out of the box and I overclocked it to make sure nothing was damaged. Why would they ship it like this? I currently work as an Electronics Technician working on medical devices and the occasional desktop doing component level troubleshooting/repairs. From what I have learned and experienced this is one of the worst ways to safely ship and store an exposed PCB. I’m really wondering if anybody has any good insight on why they do this?

Chances are whatever robot was packing it was grounded, and the odds of you accumulating enough charge to do something to the chips are low (since you’re constantly touching all sorts of grounded things), and you have warranty anyway, so it’s not like they have any incentive to care.

True, it just doesn’t make sense to me to risk. At least from my personal experience, but I don’t know what overhead using ESD bags would add versus the amount of warranty claims they would have to deal with.

Well… as long as it works the first time you’re probably perfectly fine. If the packaging is more expensive than the amount that gets fried while shipping it’s fine.

A lot of RAM actually comes with lifetime warranty afaik, because until the time comes it break you probably bought ddr5. And then 32gb is entry level standard because everything is either in a browser box, a docker box or a virtual box, or some combination of all of them. Lul

All of the new memory I have bought in the last 10 years has been packaged in plastic containers. This includes OCZ, Corsair, PNY, Crucial, and G.Skill.

The last DOA stick of memory I revieved was OCZ, and that has been about 10 years ago.

EDIT:clarity